Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin
The Palace of Charles V
Friday 26 June 22:30 Symphonic concert


Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin  

James Ehnes, violin

Juanjo Mena, conductor


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Egmont Overture,  Op. 84 (10 min)

Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61 (46 min)




Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92 (38 min)

Apotheosis of the Rhythm

A very exciting first Beethovenian date of the Festival. The Berlin Radio Orchestra and one of the most prestigious and international Spanish conductors, Vitoria-born Juanjo Mena, will present the Egmont Overture, the most important of the ten pieces that Beethoven composed in 1810 for a representation of Goethe’s Egmont, and the Symphony No. 7, a rhythm apotheosis, the one that, according to Liszt’s testimony, Wagner used to dance to. In between, Canadian James Ehnes will play as soloist what Joseph Joachim, one of the greatest violinists in history, called “the concert of concerts”.