Cuarteto Casals
The Patio de los Arrayanes
Monday 29 June 22:30 Chamber music concert


Cuarteto Casals

Abel Tomàs, violin

Vera Martínez, violin

Jonathan Brown, viola

Arnau Tomàs, cello


Cuarteto Casals will give the Masterclasses on Chamber Music for Strings, in the framework of the 51. Manuel de Falla Courses


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

String Quartet No. 6 in B-flat major, Op. 18/6 (24 min)

String Quartet No. 11 in F minor, Op. 95 “Quartetto serioso” (22 min)




String Quartet No. 13 in B-flat major, Op. 130; Große Fuge, in B-flat major, Op. 133 (50 min)

A Magic Space for Beethoven

The always magical space of the Patio de los Arrayanes will be filled again with Beethoven, this time played by one of the world’s great chamber ensembles, the Cuarteto Casals. Its members have not wanted to focus on a unique profile of the composer and thus they are offering a three-piece programme representing each of the stages in which the musician’s career has traditionally been divided: the classical one (which is represented by Op. 18 No. 6), the heroic (Op. 95) and the final (Op. 130). To conclude, there is a real monument of counterpoint art, the Great Fugue, which Beethoven conceived precisely as a final touch for Op. 130, but then published independently.