Adolfo Gutiérrez & Christopher Park
Corral del Carbón
Friday 3 July 21:00 Recital


Adolfo Gutiérrez, cello

Christopher Park, piano


Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Complete Cello Sonatas


Sonata for cello and piano No. 1 in F minor, Op. 5/1 (21 min)

Sonata for cello and piano No. 2 in G minor, Op. 5/2 (22 min)




Sonata for cello and piano No. 3 in A major, Op. 69 (28 min)

Sonata for cello and piano No. 4 in C major, Op. 102/1 (15 min)

Sonata for cello and piano No. 5 in D major, Op. 102/2 (23 min)

Coming of Age

In Beethoven’s five Cello and Piano Sonatas, the cello reaches its coming of age. The use of this instrument, linked in its beginnings to the continuous baroque bass, began to spread in the eighteenth century thanks to composers such as Vivaldi, Boccherini or Haydn, but it is not until Beethoven that it acquires its absolute independence. In his sonatas, his voice is already heard at the same level as that of the piano. And to prove it, here it goes a historic concert: the five works in the same session from the hands of one of the world’s great cellists, Spaniard Adolfo Gutiérrez Arenas, who will dialogue with Christopher Park’s piano.

Subscription for Beethoven Complete Symphonies and Cello Sonatas

You may buy a subscription for the six concerts of the cycle which will take place at the Corral del Carbón with the complete Beethoven by Listz symphonies, as well as for the concert of his sonatas for cello and piano. With the subscription you will have a 20% reduction on the price of the tickets. You may buy it via internet from April 1.